User Guide — Default Routing of Clinical Inbox Document Tasks
The athenaClinicals Document Processing Service uses the following default routing when your incoming documents are processed and sent to your Clinical Inbox.
By default, documents are assigned to the username of the provider who was data-entered for that document, in REVIEW status.
You can use the Task Assignment Overrides page to create alternate routing rules specific to your practice.
After athenahealth processes documents, by default the documents are assigned to the username of the provider who was data-entered for that document, in REVIEW status.
If athenahealth cannot determine the document's provider, athenaOne uses your practice's default document routing configuration to route the document to either the Usual provider selected on the patient's Quickview page, or the STAFF queue of the practice or department to which the document was faxed.
If your practice uses the Provider-Centric Staff feature, athenahealth routes unknown documents to practice staff; otherwise, athenahealth routes unknown documents to department staff.
The following table groups document types and tasks that share the same default routing. Default assignment may differ depending on whether your practice uses provider-centric or department-centric staff routing.
| Documents or tasks with this default routing | Provider-centric practices | Department-centric practices |
|---|---|---|
|
Admin |
Provider in REVIEW status |
Provider in REVIEW status |
|
Admin - Consent |
Provider |
Provider |
|
Admin - HIPAA/Privacy |
Closed |
Closed |
|
Cover Sheet |
Deleted |
Deleted |
|
Admin - Referral |
Provider staff |
Department staff |
|
Order task created from an encounter or new order group |
Provider staff in SUBMIT status |
Department staff in SUBMIT status |
|
Patient Case |
Provider staff in REVIEW status |
Department staff in REVIEW status |
|
Unknown |
Provider staff in HOLD status |
Department staff in HOLD status |
|
Vaccine task created from an encounter or new order group |
Provider staff in ADMINISTER status |
Department staff in ADMINISTER status |
|
Chart Abstraction Task |
If the provider re-queues the chart abstraction after review, the task is assigned to the user who completed the initial abstraction. |
Same as provider-centric practices |
- OPEN — Patient encounters awaiting closure by the clinical provider. After a provider closes an encounter, it is removed from the Encounter work queue.
- HOLD — Documents awaiting reclassification, further research, or action by athenahealth or practice staff.
- CLASSIFY — Unknown documents awaiting classification by athenahealth (document is assigned to ATHENA).
- REVIEW — Documents that require review by the clinical provider (lab results, prescription renewals, clinical documents, imaging results).
- NOTIFY — Tasks that require contact with the patient (lab results, prescriptions, imaging results).
- SUBMIT — Any orders or prescriptions that need to be sent to a third-party provider.
- FOLLOWUP — Orders that require time-sensitive follow-up (lab results, imaging studies, referrals).
- PEND — Appointments, orders, and associated tasks that are designated for submission at a later date.
- ADMINISTER — Tasks or orders awaiting administration by clinical staff (vaccines and other medications dispensed in-house).
- PERFORM — Tasks or orders to be performed by clinical staff (labs/imaging performed in-house).
- DISPENSE — Tasks or orders to be dispensed by clinical staff (medication samples).
- SCHEDULE — Tasks or orders to be scheduled by practice staff, for example, return to office (RTO) visits.
- DATAENTRY — Lab result tasks requiring data entry by clinical staff (for in-house labs) or document tasks in queue requiring data entry by athenahealth staff.
-
— Tasks marked urgent for immediate action. -
— Tasks flagged for immediate action. These tasks are associated with a patient currently checked in and in the office. - CLOSED — When a task has been completed, it is removed from the work queue in the Clinical Inbox. An item with a CLOSED status does not appear in the Clinical Inbox.
- DELETED — When a task has been deleted, it is removed from the work queue in the Clinical Inbox and is hidden from any records.